HMRC’s plans for regional locations

HMRC has provided us with an update on its plans for new regional centres and other office locations. 

HMRC says: “We’re now very close to being able to announce the locations of a number of our regional centres – and we expect to have announced the majority of them by the end of the summer. …. We announced Croydon and Bristol last year and we will open our Croydon Regional Centre this summer. 

“HMRC’s locations programme is one of the UK’s largest office property programmes. It will bring employees together into 13 modern regional centres, five Specialist Sites and – until 2027 – six Transitional Sites.” 

HMRC will retain a Head Office in Westminster. 

The 13 regional centres will be located in: 

  • Belfast
  • Birmingham
  • Bristol
  • Cardiff
  • Croydon
  • Edinburgh
  • Glasgow
  • Leeds
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester
  • Newcastle
  • Nottingham
  • Stratford

The first regional centre will open in Croydon in 2017, and all regional centres will be up and running by 2022. 

The location of the Edinburgh site was announced on 12 July, and will be near Waverley Station, in a building shared with some other government departments: see Civil service ‘hub’ to bring growth to Edinburgh 

The five specialist sites are for work that cannot be done elsewhere, notably where HMRC needs to work with its IT suppliers or other government agencies or departments. These will be located in: 

  • Dover
  • Gartcosh (Scottish Crime Campus)
  • Ipswich
  • Telford (Plaza 1 and Plaza 2)
  • Worthing 

HMRC will also retain six transitional sites located in: 

  • East Kilbride (Queensway House)
  • Ipswich (Haven and St Clare Houses)
  • London, Canary Wharf (10 Colonnade, E14)
  • Portsmouth (Lynx House)
  • Reading (Sapphire Plaza)
  • Washington (Waterview Park)